Graduate Student

Pharmacy

Asian, Indian

“First of all #blacklivesmatter #howmanymorefires is the most important message that I want to give to the reader. Nothing compares to the systemic oppression that minorities, especially blacks, face across the country and at this university. I have spent more than 2 years now at Purdue. A few months after I started living here I was walking back home from the PMU one evening and some white dudes yelled  “SandN***er” at me while driving past me in their truck. This incident happened on Grant St. in front of the University Bookstore. It is hard to recall the exact date though. I believe that regardless of how much the university administration says it is committed to “equality and justice, in my experience the reality is different.”

-Anshul Mishra

