Fourth Year

Health and Human Sciences

Black

“Upon entering Purdue I discussed with my my advisor taking classes that would satisfy pre requisites for physical therapy school. She immediately told me I should reconsider because physical therapy school was too competitive and it would be hard for me to get a GPA high enough.

My experiences with outright racism include being called a n*gger by a car passing by while walking on campus at night with several of my friends who are also African American. Another time I was racially profiled by the police when driving around looking for my friend’s apartment. I was stopped and accused of looking suspicious for “drug activity”. I tried to explain to the officer I was simply searching for an apartment, but he wasn’t satisfied until he ran my liscense and I proved to him I was a student by showing my student ID.”

