Fourth Year

College of Health and Human Sciences

White

“As a white student on campus I see racial slurs and microaggression from a different point of view. I have friends that come from a variety of backgrounds and cultures, and my white friends are aware of this. There have been numerous times when I would invite white friends to more racially diverse events or parties, and for this reason they choose not to come. I have heard some of my white girl friends say they would “hook up with a black guy, but would never date or marry one”. I have had people tell me I am starting to “act black” and am no longer “white”. I have seen the looks and staring while hanging out with my friends of other races, as if we were not all one. As a white student, I am fully aware that my peers are not treated fairly and I hope and pray we see a change on this campus.”

 

