Second Year

Krannert School of Management

Black

“It was my first summer at Purdue and I was taking 11 credit hours of classes as part of the Business Opportunity Program. One random Saturday afternoon, I was walking down State Street from Harrison on my way to Hicks Undergraduate Library to get research done for whatever project I needed to complete that weekend. I had my headphones in as I walked down the street. A pickup truck full of white guys was driving in my direction. A couple of the guys in the car motioned for me to remove my headphones while the car slowed to a crawl. The moment I did, I heard of chorus of “Nigger,” “You don’t belong here,” and “You’re ugly,” etc. The moment I stopped walking, the car sped away. I had done absolutely nothing to warrant this treatment except walk to the library. Thanks Purdue, Boiler Up.”

 

